Saturday, October 1, 2022

How To Draw Unemployment In Oklahoma

Don't Miss

What Information Is Needed To Apply For Unemployment

Unemployment in Oklahoma: What you filers need to know

In order to complete your application, you’ll need the following information and documents.

  • Social Security Number
  • Name, mailing address, telephone number, and e-mail address
  • Alien registration number and expiration date, if a non-citizen
  • Oklahoma Driver’s License or state-issued ID card number
  • Name and address of the company on your paycheck stub or W-2 form
  • Employment start and end date
  • Wages earned and how you were paid
  • Form SF8 or SF 50 if employed by the Federal government in the last 18 months
  • DD Form 214 for military service in the previous 18 months

Can I Reapply If There Was A Mistake On My First Application Or If I Applied Too Early

Yes. If you believe you are eligible and your application was denied, or if you started an application before completing 6 consecutive weeks of eligible employment, you can apply again. We also encourage applicants to double check to ensure the information submitted in the application matches their uploaded paystubs exactly. Those wishing to reapply can do so at the same form accessed on the Individuals page of the OESC website.

I Was Turned Down For Benefits How Do I Appeal This Decision

You must appeal within 10 days of the mailing date of the decision for denial. You can file your appeal by mail, by fax, by email, by telephone, or in person. The mailing address, fax number, telephone number, and email address will be included in your decision for denial. Also, you must keep filing your weekly claims regularly because you will only be paid for weeks you filed if you win your appeal.

You May Like: How Long Does Unemployment Take To Direct Deposit

Your Rights At The Hearing

Each party has the following rights:

  • To testify on their own behalf

  • To be represented by a lawyer or other representative your choosing

  • To present documents and records

  • To question your own and the opposing parties witnesses

  • To explain or rebut evidence against you

  • To object to testimony or documents offered by the opposing party

  • To state at the end of the hearing how the evidence and the law supports your position.

  • How Do I File An Appeal Against A Decision That Was Made On My Claim

    OKLAHOMA UNEMPLOYMENT

    You can file an appeal in person, by mail, fax, telephone or email. Include your name, social security number, phone number, date of determination, section of law you are appealing and a detailed explanation of why you disagree with the decision. The mailing address, fax number, telephone number and email address will be listed on your determination.

    You May Like: Bankofamerica.com/kdol

    What Information Do I Need To Apply For The Back To Work Incentive

    When you apply for the Back to Work incentive, you will need:

    • Your Social Security Number, PIN, and email
    • Your employer’s information as it appears on your paystub
    • The amount of hours you worked for each of the 6 required consecutive weeks
    • Proof of employment for all 6 weeks. Please double check that your paystubs reflect and match the hours for all 6 weeks. If paystubs reflecting all 6 weeks of work are not uploaded with your application, it will be denied.

    How To File An Initial Claim Or An Ongoing Claim For Oklahoma Unemployment Insurance

    Before you can apply for Oklahoma unemployment, you will need to gather the following information to be used in your claim:

    • Name, including any prior married or maiden names
    • Social Security number
    • Alien registration number and expiration date if you are a non-citizen
    • DD Form 214 if you served in the military in the last 18 months
    • Form SF 8 or SF 50 if you were employed by the federal government in the last 18 months
    • Oklahoma drivers license or ID card, if applicable
    • Your last employer information, including the name of the company as it appears on your paycheck stub or W-2 form, your start and end date, the amount of wages you earned and how you were paid
    • Employment history for the past 18 months including the name of the company as it appears on your pay check stub or W-2 form, your start and end date, the amount of wages you earned and how you were paid .

    You can file a new Oklahoma unemployment claim or make a claim on an existing claim two possible ways:

    Online through the Oklahoma unemployment website, www.unemployment.ok.gov

    Through the Oklahoma unemployment number at 525-1500 inside the Oklahoma City area or 555-1554 outside the Oklahoma City area.

    The online system is called the Oklahoma Network Initial Claims . It will allow you to perform a variety of actions ranging from filing a claim to updating contact information and getting information regarding electronic payment options.

    Don’t Miss: Bankofamerica.com Kdol Debit Card

    What Can I Do If My Oklahoma Unemployment Appeal Is Denied

    If an unemployment appeal is denied, then the employee , the employer or the Oklahoma Employment Security Commission may appeal the decision to the Board of Review. The review board generally will decide the matter based on the record made at the Appeal Tribunal. An appeal to the Board of Review should be mailed directly to the Board at the address printed in your appeal rights in your decision within 10 days of the mailing date of the Appeal Tribunal decision. The next level of appeal lies at the County District Court. In order to appeal in District Court, you must file Petition for Review with the court, within 30 days of denial by the Board of Review. Okla. Stat. tit. 40, § 2-610.

    Who Is Eligible And What You Receive

    Unemployment in Oklahoma: What you filers need to know

    Oklahomans are eligible to file for unemployment if they have lost their jobs or had their hours reduced through no fault of their own, or if they quit because of unsafe or harmful working conditions.

    RELATED

    COVID-19: A buzz kill for states bars and restaurants by Matt Patterson

    While receiving unemployment benefits, claimants who were laid off are required to be actively seeking new employment and must register at okjobmatch.com within seven days of filing their claim. People filing because of a temporary furlough or a reduction in hours are not required to meet these job-search requirements, according to Charlie Hannema, a spokesperson for the governors office.

    Applicants for Oklahoma unemployment benefits must have made at least $1,500 during a year-long base period that includes the first four calendar quarters of the five quarters preceding the claim.

    If approved, weekly payments will be equal to 1/23 of the amount earned during the highest-paid quarter of the base period. Total payments per week fall between a minimum of $16 and a maximum of $520. According to this informational booklet on the OESCs website, most individuals are eligible to receive benefits for approximately 20 weeks.

    Also Check: Do You Pay Income Tax On Unemployment

    Failure To Attend The Hearing

    If a party fails to appear at the scheduled hearing, testimony may be taken from the appearing party, and the case will be decided based on the records and testimony introduced at the hearing. If neither party appears, the case will be decided based on the available information. If an absent party can show there was good cause, due to circumstances beyond their control, for failing to appear, the case may be reopened, providing the absent party notifies the Appeal Tribunal in writing, by letter or by FAX letter, within ten days after the date the decision is mailed. The FAX number for the Appeal Tribunal is 601-3337. The letter will be reviewed to determine whether it should be set for another hearing in order to determine whether there was good cause for not appearing at the original hearing. Both parties will be notified when the next hearing will be, and both parties should attend. OAC 240:10-13-40.

    A Judge Has Temporarily Restored Extra Unemployment Payments For Oklahomans

    Oklahoma is now one of three states where lawsuits have thwarted orders by governors to end expanded, federally funded unemployment aid early.

    Tweet

    5 min

    Posted In

    An Oklahoma County Judge has temporarily reinstated extra benefits for unemployed Oklahomans that Gov. Kevin Stitt cut off early in late June.

    Oklahoma is now one of three states where lawsuits have thwarted orders by governors to end the federally-increased unemployment aid early.

    The expanded benefits offer $300 extra per week for those receiving unemployment payments and allowed workers traditionally barred from receiving the benefits such as gig workers and extended the amount of time workers could draw unemployment through Sept. 6.

    The judge in the case, Oklahoma County District Judge Anthony L. Bonner, Jr.,who Stitt appointed to the bench by Stitt earlier this year, heard arguments on Thursday from attorneys for the 13 plaintiffs in the case, which was originally filed in Tulsa County, and from the Oklahoma Attorney Generals Office, who represented defendant Oklahoma Employment Security Commissioner Shelley Zumwalt.

    The Oklahoma Employment Security Commission must reinstate additional federal unemployment benefit programs and cannot withdraw the state from the program until a final judgment in the case is rendered or the program expires in September, Bonner said In an email to attorneys late Friday afternoon. The judge said he will issue a full order with more details on Monday,

    Don’t Miss: Unemployment Ticket Checker

    Quarterly Earnings And Unemployment

    In order to calculate your potential unemployment earnings in the state of Oklahoma, you must first know what your quarterly earnings were for the last four quarters in the base period. The base period is the current quarter, plus the four full quarters prior. Quarters are broken down by months, like this:

    Do You Meet The Minimum Earnings Requirement

    photo_42558188_concrete

    Like every state, Oklahoma looks at your recent work history and earnings during a one-year “base period” to determine your eligibility for unemployment. . In Oklahoma, as in most states, the base period is the earliest four of the five complete calendar quarters before you filed your benefits claim. For example, if you filed your claim in June of 2021, the base period would be from January 1, 2020, through December 31, 2020.

    To qualify for benefits in Oklahoma, you must meet both of the following requirements:

    • You must have earned at least $1,500 during the entire base period.
    • In the entire base period, you must have earned at least 1.5 times your earnings in the highest paid quarter of the period.

    Don’t Miss: Emerald Card Overdraft

    Coronavirus In Oklahoma: Frequently Asked Questions When Filing For Unemployment Insurance

    This content is being provided for free as a public service to our readers during the coronavirus outbreak. If local news is important to you, consider becoming a digital subscriber to The Oklahoman.

    Related content

    For those seeking unemployment insurance amid the new coronavirus outbreak, there can be a lot of questions.

    Unemployment insurance pays benefits to workers who have lost their job through no fault of their own. Anyone who is separated from a job may file a claim for unemployment benefits. You can file if you quit, were discharged, got laid off or are even out on strike.

    You may be eligible for these benefits if you meet all eligibility requirements. If you qualify, you may receive weekly payments to help cover your living expenses while you search for new employment. You must continue to file a weekly claim to continue to receive benefits and meet eligibility requirements in order for the Oklahoma Employment Security Commission to pay you benefits.

    Unemployment benefits are made available through taxes paid by your former employer or employers to partially replace your regular earnings and help you meet expenses while you look for another job.

    The Oklahoma Employment Security Commission compiled a detailed list of frequently asked questions on its website. Here are some of those questions.

    FAQs for applicants

    • Related to this story

    What If I Need Additional Assistance With My Claim

    Assistance can be found at OESCs 27 regional offices, which are continuing to see claimants in person with masks required and social distancing in effect. Regional office staff also can assist claimants over the phone via their local office number.

    to see all American Job Center locations in the state.

    You May Like: What Day Does Unemployment Get Deposited In Ga

    How Do I Update/change My Pin Number

    To reset and establish a new PIN online, visit UI.ok.gov and click the “Manage Claim” button. If you are unable to change your PIN online, please contact our Unemployment Service Center at 405-525-1500 or visit your nearest Oklahoma Works office. For resetting your debit card PIN, please contact our card vendor Conduent at 866-320-8699.

    Who Is Eligible To Collect Unemployment Insurance

    Woman files lawsuit over Oklahoma’s decision to end extra federal pandemic unemployment benefits

    In normal times, according to the US Department of Labor, you’re eligible for UI benefits if you:

    1. Lose your job through no fault of your own.

    2. Meet the work and wage requirements established by your state as well as any additional state requirements.

    That noted, the eligibility criteria was adjusted in 2020 with the emergence of the COVID-19 pandemic, but those pandemic unemployment benefits have since expired. Still, in most cases, you can be denied if it can be proved that you quit your job without “good cause” or if you were discharged for misconduct or lack of compliance with employer policies.

    Don’t Miss: Njuifile.net Sign In

    How Long Must The Employee Work In Order For The Employer To Claim The Credit

    Employers can claim 25% of the qualified first-year wages up to $6,000 for employees working, at least 120 hours but less than 400. For employees working a least 400 hours or more, the credit is calculated at the rate of 40% of the qualified first-year wages up to $6,000. This allows a maximum credit of $2,400. The Long Term Family Assistance recipient is calculated at 40% of the qualified first-year wages up to $10,000 and 50% of qualified second-year wages, maximum savings $9,000. For the Summer Youth target group, the credit is calculated at a rate of 25% of the qualified first-year wages up to $3,000. For the disabled veteran and long term unemployed Veterans, the maximum qualifying wages range from $12,000 to $24,000.

    How Long Will My Unemployment Benefits Last In Oklahoma

    In Oklahoma, you can receive unemployment benefits for a maximum of 26 weeks under state law.

    In times of high unemployment, additional weeks of benefits may be available under a different federal program, the Extended Benefits program .

    Each state sets its own rules for how long unemployment benefits last. Until quite recently, virtually all states offered a maximum of 26 weeks of benefits. In the last five or six years, however, some states have changed their rules on duration of benefits .

    Read Also: What Ticket Number Is Pa Unemployment On

    How Can I Find A Good Unemployment Lawyer In Oklahoma

    There are several ways to find a good lawyer to help with your unemployment claim in Oklahoma. The best way to find a lawyer is always through a referral from someone you know. Ask family members, friends, and other professionals you work with whether they can recommend a good employment lawyer.

    Lawyers specialize, so your friends divorce lawyer wont be the right person to handle your unemployment appeal. However, lawyers also know other lawyers, so dont hesitate to ask a well-recommended lawyer in a different field for an employment lawyer referral.

    If you cant find a lawyer through personal referrals, here are a couple of other options:

    Oklahoma Unemployment Eligibility: Key Terms

    Can Some Oklahomans Defraud Unemployment System?
    • Base Period The 52 week period used to determine what level of unemployment benefits you will be paid. It is the first four of the last five completed quarters.
    • Benefit Week This is the seven day period that starts on Sunday and ends on Saturday.
    • Benefit Year The 52 week period that starts when you file an initial claim for benefits. The amount of benefits you can be paid is framed within this defined period of time. In Oklahoma, it begins on the first Sunday following the date of your initial claim.
    • OESC The Oklahoma Employment Security Commission. This is the agency that oversees the administration of unemployment insurance benefits throughout the state. It also is tasked with providing job search, training and education services through the OKJobMatch system.
    • Waiting Week The first week of your Benefit Year is called the Waiting Week. Even though you will not collect benefits for this week, you will still need to file a claim for benefits.
    • Weekly Benefit Amount The amount of Oklahoma unemployment compensation you will be paid each week. It is determined based on wages earned during your Base Period and will be between $16 and $505 in Oklahoma.
    • Workforce Service Centers The OESC operates 36 offices throughout Oklahoma to provide a wide variety of job search, training and skills services for job seekers and employers. To find one of several Oklahoma unemployment offices near you, visit our guide.

    Recommended Reading: How Do I Change My Address For Unemployment Online

    How To Get Cobra

    Group health plans must give covered employees and their families a notice explaining their COBRA rights. Plans must have rules for how COBRA coverage is offered, how beneficiaries may choose to get it and when they can stop coverage. For more COBRA information, see COBRA Premium Subsidy. The page links to information about COBRA including:

    How Are States Handling The Issue

    State lawmakers “have widely diverse views on vaccine mandates,” according to David Mallen, a partner representing the Employee Law Group in Torrance, California. “States like CA and NY are introducing these vaccine mandates, but other states are doing the exact opposite. They have either introduced or already passed legislation banning vaccine mandates.”

    In New York, health care and education workers are required to get vaccinated, and the state’s Labor Department has clearly stated that employees in these sectors who refuse employer-mandated vaccination or COVID testing aren’t eligible for UI benefits.

    The guidelines are less clear in other states. Washington Gov. Jay Inslee mandated that all health care workers be vaccinated against COVID-19 by Oct. 18 or face dismissal. But while the majority will likely be ineligible for UI, there may be accommodations based on “unique circumstances.”

    Other states have introduced or attempted to proceed on legislation that would make discriminating against employees’ vaccine status illegal.

    One of the problems is that there hasn’t yet been a legal decision that other lawyers, applicants and employers can use to guide future conduct. “Because vaccine mandates are relatively new, there are not yet any precedential decisions on this issue,” explained Jacob Korder, a labor and employment attorney in New York.

    That’s why many legal experts are saying that unemployment claims will be determined on a case-by-case basis.

    Recommended Reading: Pa Unemployment Ticket Number Status

    More articles

    Popular Articles