We Must Increase Unemployment Insurance Benefits Without Caveats
Long before the Covid-19 pandemic wreaked havoc on our states economy, Louisiana workers who lost their jobs through no fault of their own were stuck with some of the lowest unemployment benefits in the country.
Louisianas maximum weekly benefit of $247 is the third lowest in the nation, behind Mississippi and Arizona. But most unemployed Louisianans receive even less. Louisianas average weekly unemployment benefit has hovered around $190 in 2021, which is the lowest in the nation.
The Legislature is considering two bills to address this issue. While both bills would raise the weekly benefits that people can receive after losing their jobs, each of them also have serious flaws that would hurt people at a time when Louisiana still has a long way to go before it fully recovers from the pandemic recession.
In the early months of the pandemic, unemployed Louisianans received a $600 per week boost in their state benefits from the federal government an enhancement that kept many families financially afloat and helped the overall state economy. But that benefit boost expired in July 2020. Unemployed people currently receive an extra $300 per week in federal support, an enhancement that is scheduled to expire in September.
There is a simple solution to these problems that legislators should consider: raise Louisianas unacceptably low unemployment benefits without conditions.
How To Apply For Unemployment Insurance Benefits
You should apply for unemployment compensation as soon as you are unemployed. Most states will make you wait for one week before you are able to apply for unemployment benefits. However, this is currently waived due to the coronavirus outbreak.
Start by starting your personal information, such as your Social Security Number, previous two years of employment history , the last date you worked, your wage history, and if applicable, information for your union. You may need additional information, such as your education level, military service history, or other information.
Try Applying online first. Most states allow you to apply online, in-person, or over the phone. However, states are currently overburdened with applications and many are not accepting in-person applications. So your best bet is to try online first. Be patient, as many states are running antiquated systems that are not designed to handle the flood of applications they are receiving.
Once approved, you may be required to meet with an employment counselor at some point. You will also have to certify your attempts to continue your job search. Most states require this on a weekly basis.
Louisiana Wrongful Termination Laws
Each state has a set of laws regarding wrongful termination. The federal government also issues a separate set of laws, and employers must adhere to both the federal and state wrongful termination laws. The wrongful termination laws rules govern employer conduct, workers rights, and most importantly, issues regarding resignation and termination. If an employer violates a law regarding wrongful termination, the individual or organization is engaging in an illegal action. If you are terminated for an unlawful reason, you may be eligible to receive unemployment benefits. If you voluntarily quit for a valid reason, for example, you were forced to relocate or you were being harassed, you need to inform the state of the particular circumstances.
Also Check: Filing For Unemployment In Pennsylvania
How To Appeal A Denial Of Unemployment Benefits In Louisiana
If your unemployment claim is denied, you have 15 days to appeal the decision. After receiving your appeal request, the Appeals Unit of the Louisiana Workforce Commission will schedule a hearing before an Administrative Law Judge , at which you can present evidence and witnesses. Hearings are typically held by phone.
If you disagree with the ALJ’s decision after the initial hearing, you can request an appeal by the Board of Review within 15 days. And, if you disagree with the Board’s finding, you may file an appeal in court within 15 days.
For more information on the unemployment process, including current eligibility requirements and benefits amounts, visit the Louisiana Workforce Commission website.
How To Calculate Salary After Tax In Louisiana In 2022
The following steps allow you to calculate your salary after tax in Louisiana after deducting Medicare, Social Security Federal Income Tax and Louisiana State Income tax.
Recommended Reading: Apply For Unemployment Tn
Payroll Tax Administrator Salary In Louisiana
How much does a Payroll Tax Administrator make in Louisiana? The average Payroll Tax Administrator salary in Louisiana is $52,163 as of October 29, 2021, but the range typically falls between $46,691 and $58,329. Salary ranges can vary widely depending on the city and many other important factors, including education, certifications, additional skills, the number of years you have spent in your profession.
- Adjust Payroll Tax Administrator Salary:
- Select State
Also Check: Whereâs My Tax Refund Ga
How Much Can I Receive In Unemployment Benefits
The minimum weekly benefit amount in Louisiana is $10.00. The maximum is currently $258. Your weekly benefit amount could be anywhere in this range, depending upon the total amount of wages paid to you during your base period. The total amount of unemployment insurance benefits payable to you would be equal to the lesser of 26 times your weekly benefit amount or 27% of your total base period wages.
Search legal topics
You May Like: Applying For Unemployment In Tennessee
Louisiana State Payroll Taxes
Now that were done with federal taxes, lets look at Louisiana income taxes. The state charges a progressive income tax, meaning the more money your employees make, the higher the income tax. The tax rate ranges from 2% on the low end to 6% on the high end.
Louisiana does not have any local city taxes, so all of your employees will pay only the state income tax.
Donât Miss: Where Is My State Refund Ga
What Are The Requirements For Unemployment Registration
Unemployment registration in Louisiana occurs on a weekly basis and each week you must continue to meet the eligibility requirements. As long as you meet the following requirements each week, you can file a claim for unemployment benefits:
If you reject a job offer at any time, you must immediately notify the state Department of Labor and explain why the job was not suitable. If you are employed part-time, you must report all of your earnings on a consistent basis.
When you first file for an unemployment claim, state representatives will contact your previous employer to verify the information you provided about the circumstances of your termination. During this time, your previous employer has the right to dispute your claim. If this occurs, the department will collect more information from both parties, and make a ruling as to whether or not you qualify for unemployment benefits. If the state rules in favor of your employer, you will not be able to file for unemployment benefits. If you do not agree with the final decision, you have the right to file an unemployment denial appeal.
Don’t Miss: Tn Unemployment Application
How To File A Claim For Unemployment Benefits In Louisiana
You may file your claim for unemployment benefits online or by phone. You can find online filing information, as well as the numbers for filing by phone, at the Louisiana Workforce Commission website.
Once it receives your application, the LWC will send you some documents, including a Monetary Determination indicating whether you met the initial earnings requirements to qualify for benefits and how much you can expect to receive each week.
How Much Can You Receive As Unemployment Benefits In Louisiana
According to LWCs secretary, Ava Dejoie, $247 is the maximum weekly benefit you can receive in the state, one of the least countrywide. There are various factors taken into consideration while calculating these benefits, but generally, they are calculated by: Determining the average of an applicants total base period employment salary, taking 1/25th of this average, multiplying the result by 1.05 and increasing the outcome by 1.15. Workers may also be entitled to receive an additional $600 weekly as per the federal stimulus bill, through the end of June, in unemployment benefits. And this comes as part of the $2 trillion relief package passed by the congress.
Recommended Reading: Can You File Chapter 7 On Unemployment Overpayment
Unemployment Benefits By State
A note about this table: The information in this table is up to date at the time of publication. We regularly review this information for accuracy. However, each state maintains its unemployment insurance program and details do change from time to time. We link to each states employment bureau where you can find the most up to date information.
Additionally, this table lists the maximum unemployment insurance benefits you can receive. Not all workers will receive the maximum benefit. Benefits are often based on your previous salary, if or when you previously claimed unemployment compensation, and how long you have been working. Each state may also have additional rules regarding whether or not you are out of work through no fault of your own, whether or not you receive any additional income from employment or side gigs, or whether or not you receive additional income from a pension or retirement benefits.
|Wyoming Department of Workforce Services||307-473-3789|
How Do I Apply For Unemployment Benefits
You can file for unemployment benefits by calling 866-783-5567. You also have the option to file online. In order to file, youll need:
- Your Social Security number
- Details about past employment over the last 18 months including the name, address, location of the job site, and employer telephone numbers
- The name and address of your union hall if youre a union member
- Your Alien Registration Number if youre not a U.S. citizen
- The member copy of your DD214 if you served in the military over the past 18 months
- Your SF-8 and SF-50 if you were a federal employee during the last 18 months
Once youve filed youll need to request your benefit payment every week. You can do this online or by phone, beginning the first Sunday after you apply whether or not your application has been approved.
Also Check: How To File Unemployment In Tn
Other Unemployment Insurance Provisions Under The Cares Act:
The CARES Act improved unemployment benefits in the following ways:
- It provides an additional $600 per week in benefits and payments through July 31, 2020.
- It adds an additional 13 weeks of benefits through December 31, 2020. Most states currently offer 26 weeks of unemployment benefits .
- it expands benefits for part-time, seasonal, self-employed, and contract workers .
- Offers to reimburse the cost for states that waive the one-week waiting period before paying benefits.
Learn The Rules For Unemployment Eligibility Benefit Amounts And More In Louisiana
By Lisa Guerin, J.D.
Did you recently lose your job in Louisiana? If so, you might be eligible for unemployment benefits compensation available to employees who are temporarily out of work through no fault of their own. Although the basic rules for unemployment are similar across the board, the eligibility rules, prior earnings requirements, benefit amounts, and other details vary from state to state. Below you’ll find information on collecting unemployment in Louisiana.
Read Also: Pa Filing For Unemployment
How Much Money Will I Receive On Louisiana Unemployment Benefits
Louisiana pays unemployment benefits claimants between $10 and $247 per week for a maximum of 26 weeks. The total amount is calculated based on your wages received during the base period.
The maximum claim period may be extended during periods of unusually high unemployment. For example, Louisiana allowed people to receive benefits for more than 26 weeks under the Pandemic Emergency Unemployment Compensation scheme.
Expanded Unemployment In Louisiana During The Covid
On March 11, 2021, President Biden signed into law a $1.9 trillion COVID-19 relief bill known as the American Rescue Plan . The law extended a $300 per week federal unemployment supplement until September 6, 2021. However, in response to apparent labor shortages, the state of Louisiana has decided to end this supplement early on August 3, 2021.
The law also extended two unemployment programs originally created by the CARES Act in March 2020: Pandemic Unemployment Assistance and Pandemic Emergency Unemployment Compensation .
Under the PUA program, self-employed workersusually excluded from unemployment benefitsare entitled to unemployment if they meet certain criteria. ARP makes PUA benefits available through Labor Day 2021, and increases the maximum duration of these benefits from 50 to 79 weeks.
The PEUC program provides for a federally-funded extension of benefits when state unemployment benefits expire. ARP increases the maximum duration of PEUC benefits from 24 to 53 weeks, with an expiry date of September 4, 2021.
For up-to-date information on Louisiana’s rules on unemployment eligibility and amounts during the COVID-19 pandemic, visit the state’s Unemployment Benefits page.
Researchers Found Mixed Results After States Ended Federal Unemployment
Researchers from Columbia University, the University of Massachusetts Amherst and Harvard University also found mixed results when looking at states that ended federal unemployment in June.
The number of people receiving unemployment dropped in states that withdrew from the federal unemployment program compared to the states that retained the benefits a difference of about 35 percentage points. Unemployed people in the states that withdrew were also about 20% more likely to have found a job through the first week of August.
The states that withdrew also saw a $14 increase in weekly earnings, though that coincided with a $278 loss in weekly benefits and a $145 reduction in weekly spending.
The researchers also found that the employment gains in states without the federal unemployment were likely due to people exhausting unemployment benefits rather than being incentivized by the loss of the $300 benefit.
“Through the first week of August, average UI benefits for these workers fell by $278 per week and earnings rose by $14 per week, offsetting only 5% of the loss in income,” the study said. “Spending fell by $145 per week, as the loss of benefits led to a large immediate decline in consumption.”
Quarterly Tax Payment Due Dates
Quarterly FUTA taxes are due if you owe more than $500 in taxes each quarter. The due dates are:
- Quarter one: April 30
- Quarter three: Oct. 31
- Quarter four: Jan. 31
However, SUTA tax due dates varies by state. For example, in Michigan, the taxes are due on the 25th of the month instead of the end of the month: April 25, July 25, Oct. 25, and Jan. 25. Failing to meet the deadline may result in a penalty or late tax payment interest assessment. Therefore, you not only have to know what taxes to withhold and pay but also when and how to pay itby state.
You May Like: Unemployment Ticket Checker
New Law Raises Maximum Weekly Benefit Amount Next Year Ends Pandemic
The following information comes from Louisiana Workforce Commission:
A new Louisiana law could give more money to people who file for unemployment benefits. Act No. 276 raises the maximum weekly benefit amount by $28 beginning Jan. 1, 2022, the first increase in over a decade.
It also ends Louisianas participation in the American Rescue Plan Act of 2021 as of July 31, 2021. This means the following federally funded programs will end in Louisiana effective July 31, 2021:
Pandemic Unemployment Assistance , which provides unemployment benefits for individuals who do not qualify for state-funded benefits.
- Pandemic Emergency Unemployment Compensation , which extends regular unemployment claims that have exhausted state-funded benefits.
- Federal Pandemic Unemployment Compensation , which provides $300 in weekly supplemental federal unemployment benefits to eligible claimants in PUA and PEUC, as well as state-funded regular unemployment and Disaster Unemployment Assistance .
- Mixed Earners Unemployment Compensation , which allows individuals with a state-funded or PEUC claim and at least $5,000 in self-employment income in 2020 to receive an additional $100 in weekly benefits. MEUC is still in implementation development in Louisiana.
to report a typo.
What Are The Basic Types Of Payroll Tax
Several types of payroll taxes exist at the national and state levels. They are as follows:
- Federal payroll tax Better known as Federal Insurance Contribution Act , the federal payroll tax has two parts one for Medicare and the other for Social Security.
- Social Security payroll tax Employers and employees share in the Social Security tax, with each paying half of the total liability until the employee reaches the wage base limit of $142,800 .
- Medicare payroll taxMedicare tax is also split evenly between employers and employees, but unlike Social Security, it doesnt have an earnings limit. However, certain employees making more than $200,000 per year may have to pay an additional Medicare tax, which employers arent required to match.
- Unemployment taxes Employers alone pay federal unemployment tax on the first $7,000 that every employee earns. The same is true for state unemployment programs, except the wage base limits vary, and in a few states, employees also contribute to the tax. Employers who pay their state unemployment on time and arent in a credit reduction state may be eligible for a lower federal unemployment tax rate.
- State and local payroll tax Some states and municipalities may have additional payroll taxes for short term disability, paid family medical leave or other programs. Employers should check with their local authorities for specific requirements.
Also Check: Do You Have To Pay Taxes On Plasma Donations
Read Also: Apply For Tn Unemployment Benefits