Federal And State Extended Benefits
Federal benefits created during the pandemic including PUA, PEUC, and FPUC end Sept. 4. Any funds remaining in your unemployment account related to these federal programs will not be available for certification or payment for weeks of unemployment ending after Sept. 4, 2021, per federal law.
Please note that you will be able to receive benefits for weeks of unemployment ending prior to Sept. 4, per your weekly certification answers. If you are currently in an appeal or adjudication process, or have an appointment scheduled after Sept. 4, please continue to certify weekly, follow instructions and monitor your email.
To learn more about available extensions of or additions to unemployment benefits, see the information below.
How many weeks of unemployment benefits can I currently receive?
Those who meet the requirements for traditional unemployment insurance may receive benefits for up to 26 weeks during a one-year period.
Claimants who are eligible for state extended unemployment benefits will be transitioned to them automatically when federal extended benefits end on September 4, 2021. If you are on state extended unemployment benefits, your claim status will say Extended Unemployment Benefits.
Can I receive the funds in my unemployment account after federal benefits expired?
Why are my benefits for this week less than previous weeks?
What are state extended unemployment benefits ?
How is eligibility for state extended unemployment benefits determined?
How Long Can You Collect Unemployment In Nj
The length of time you will be able to collect unemployment benefits in New Jersey depends on several factors. First, you must have been working in a regular job for at least 20 weeks, and then you must have lost that job through no fault of your own. These are the two basic criteria for you to be eligible for state unemployment benefits in New Jersey.
And New Jersey is among the majority of states in which workers are eligible for up to 26 weeks of benefits from the a state-funded unemployment compensation program. However, you dont automatically qualify for 26 weeks of unemployment benefits because it depends on how many weeks youve worked in a, base-year period.
There are a couple alternate methods of calculating the base-year period on which your unemployment benefits will be calculated, but the primary method, as stated by the NJ Department of Labor and Workforce Development is:
The regular base-year period of any claim consists of the first four of the last five completed calendar quarters preceding the date of the claim. When a claimant files an unemployment claim, the weeks and wages in the base-year period are counted to determine eligibility.
As regards the amount of unemployment benefits youll be entitled to collect, it will be 60% of the average weekly earnings during your base-year period. Dependency benefits are also available under certain circumstances.
Eligibility Requirements For New Jersey Unemployment Benefits
In New Jersey, the Department of Labor and Workforce Development handles unemployment benefits and determines eligibility on a case-by-case basis. Applicants must meet the following three eligibility requirements in order to collect unemployment benefits in New Jersey:
- Your past earnings must meet certain minimum thresholds.
- You must be unemployed through no fault of your own, as defined by New Jersey law.
- You must be able and available to work, and you must be actively seeking employment.
Don’t Miss: Unemployment Compensation Louisiana
When And How Will I Get My New Jersey Unemployment Compensation
You can receive unemployment insurance benefits either by debit card or by direct deposit. When you file your initial claim you will be asked to decide which method you prefer. If you do not specify, you will get your benefits by a debit card issued to you by Bank of America.
If you want direct deposit, which places money directly into your savings or checking account, you will need to provide banking information when you file your claim.
If you choose the prepaid debit card form, your benefits will be made available in your account within two business days after you claim your benefits.
What Qualifies As Misconduct
Whether you were terminated for misconduct will depend on the facts and circumstances. If you had unexcused absences or refused to comply with your employers lawful orders, you may be unable to collect unemployment compensation. If you are determined to have committed misconduct that caused your job loss, you will be unable to recover benefits for the week that you were discharged plus five additional weeks. If the misconduct was gross misconduct, you will be ineligible to recover benefits.
You May Like: Tn Unemployment Qualifications
What Is The Maximum Weekly Unemployment Benefit In New Jersey
609.984.2841. TRENTON The New Jersey Department of Labor and Workforce Development announced annual changes in the maximum benefit rates and taxable wage base that took effect on January 1, 2019 for New Jerseys Unemployment Insurance, Temporary Disability Insurance, Family Leave Insurance, and Workers Compensation programs. In the new year, the maximum weekly benefit amount for eligible Unemployment Insurance beneficiaries increased to $696, from $681.
How Do You Get Partial Unemployment In The State Of New Jersey
A citizen of New Jersey who qualifies to receive unemployment benefits but works part-time receives partial benefits after filing his weekly benefits claim online or by phone to his local claim center. Anyone wishing to receive unemployment benefits must report his weekly earnings and verify he is available and actively looking for full-time employment.
If a claimant fails to make a claim for unemployment benefits as instructed, he does not receive benefits for that week. To calculate the benefit, add 20 percent more than the full weekly benefit and subtract any earnings from part-time work. For example, if the full benefit is $100 but $50 was earned through work, start by adding 20 percent to the benefit amount for a total of $120, then subtract $50 in earnings. In this example, the partial benefit for the week would total $70. Full unemployment benefits may be awarded up to 60 percent of regular wages, up to $611, as of 2012.
Partial benefits are available to employees working less than 80 percent of regular full-time hours due to a lack of work and individuals on unemployment who find part-time work. Part-time workers must continue to seek full-time work and may not turn down a full-time job offer to continue to receive benefits. Claimants who fail to report all wages and tips earned while on unemployment may face charges of fraud.
Read Also: How To Get Unclaimed Unemployment Benefits
Information For Teachers & Other School Employees
School employee claims have distinct eligibility requirements.
For example, a school employee may not be eligible to receive benefits if all the following apply:
- A claim is filed during a recess period.
- Only school wages are in the base period of the claim.
- There is an offer to return to work for a school employer when the recess period ends.
What are the types of school employees?
For Unemployment Insurance purposes, a school employee is an individual who works or provides services for a public or private nonprofit educational institution. Unless otherwise stated, a school employee can also be school supportive staff which provides services to, or on behalf of, an educational institution.
Professional school employee: A school employee who performs work in an instructional, research, or principal administrative capacity
Non-professional school employee: All other school employees
What is a recess period?
A recess period is the period of time between terms, or within terms when classes are not usually scheduled. Examples of recess periods include summer vacation, and holiday recesses such as winter or spring break.
What is reasonable assurance?
Reasonable assurance is a written, verbal, or implied agreement that the school employee will perform services for an educational institution during the next academic year, term, or remainder of a term.
How do I apply for benefits?
Yes, if the following conditions are met:
Filing A Claim For Benefits
If you are eligible to receive benefits, start by completing a benefits claim with the Department of Labor. Your claim will be reviewed, and your most recent employer will be contacted. If your employer does not respond within 10 days, the information that you provide along with any other available sources will be relied upon by the DOL to make its determination. If you are denied, or your employer objects to your receipt of benefits, you can appeal the determination by filing an appeal within seven days after you have received the initial determination. Your appeal will be disallowed if you do not file it within the prescribed period. Once you file it, a hearing will be scheduled, and you will be allowed to bring a lawyer and to present evidence. If you disagree with the decision that you receive from the appeal tribunal, you may then appeal to the Board of Review within 10 days after the decision. Finally, the last available appeals level is the New Jersey Appellate Division. Appeals there must be filed within 45 days of the decision that was handed down by the Board of Review.
Recommended Reading: How To Apply For Unemployment In Tennessee
Learn The Unemployment Eligibility Rules Benefit Amounts And More For New Jersey
By Sachi Barreiro, Attorney
In New Jerseyas in every other stateemployees who are temporarily out of work through no fault of their own may qualify for unemployment benefits. The eligibility rules, prior earnings requirements, benefit amounts, and other details vary from state to state. Here are the basic rules for collecting unemployment compensation in New Jersey.
How To Apply For Unemployment In New Jersey
by Maurie Backman | Updated July 17, 2021 – First published on March 26, 2020
Lost your job in the COVID-19 crisis? Here’s what you need to know about unemployment benefits in your state.
Millions of jobs have already been lost nationwide due to COVID-19, and New Jersey is no exception. Here’s what you need to know about filing for unemployment benefits in the Garden State.
You May Like: Unemployment Ticket Number
Eligibility For New Jersey Unemployment Compensation Benefits For Individual That Voluntarily Quit Resigned Or Left Work Due To Good Cause Attributable To The Work
The courts have established legal standards that are to be applied in determining whether an individual is eligible for benefits where they left a job due to good cause attributable to the work such as in situations in which the employee was being harassed, subject to a hostile work environment or other situations in which the employee had good cause to leave the job. o further the remedial and beneficial purposes, of the New Jersey Unemployment Compensation Law, the courts have recognized that the is to be construed liberally in favor of allowance of benefits. Yardville Supply Co. v. Board of Review, supra, 114 N.J. 371, 374 see also Provident Institution for Sav. V. Division of Employment Sec., 32 N.J. 585, 590 . The purpose of the is to provide some income for the worker earning nothing, because he is out of work through no fault or act of his own.Battaglia v. Bd. of Review, 14 N.J.Super. 24, 27 see also Yardville Supply Co. v. Bd. of Review, 114 N.J. 371, 375 .
The Act protects not only workers who are involuntarily unemployedthose who are laid-off or terminated from their jobs by their employersbut also those who voluntarily quit their jobs for good cause attributable to their work. See Zubrycky v. ASA Apple, Inc., 381 N.J.Super. 162, 168, ).
It may be important to seek the advice of a New Jersey Unemployment Compensation attorney or lawyer with respect to determining whether your qualify for New Jersey Unemployment Compensation benefits.
How Long Does It Take To Receive An Unemployment Check In New Jersey
If you lose your job, you may be entitled to unemployment benefits, depending on the reason you lost the job, how much you earned and whether you are available for a new full-time job. In New Jersey, it takes several weeks to get your first unemployment check after you apply for benefits once you begin receiving benefits, you can receive them once every two weeks.
Recommended Reading: Mn Unemployment Maximum
New Jersey Unemployment Benefits Program
The New Jersey Department of Labor and Workforce Development administers unemployment insurance benefits for citizens in the state. It pays benefits to workers who have lost their job through no fault of their own and also assists with helping unemployed workers find jobs by providing search and training services.
Money for these benefits comes from a payroll tax paid by employers and workers in New Jersey. The benefits are meant to partially replace wages lost after a job loss and to help maintain a degree of financial stability until a person goes back to work.
If you meet New Jersey unemployment qualifications, you may be able to draw benefits of up to $713 for up to 26 weeks in a benefit year.
Several online serviceslike FlexJobs, 360training, or MyPerfectResumecan help you find work-from-home jobs, build a better resume, or earn training certifications.
How Much Might I Get
Unemployment benefits in New Jersey are typically calculated at 60% of your average weekly wage during your base year, up to a maximum of $713 per week. The minimum weekly benefit amount you can receive ranges from $120 to $138, depending on the number of dependents listed in the application. Again, its possible these maximums can change during recessions or other difficult economic times.
You can use New Jerseys benefit calculator to estimate what your potential payment could be.
Don’t Miss: Njuifile.net Log In
What Happens After I File An Initial Claim
After you file an initial unemployment claim you will be mailed a Form BC9 which explains how to certify for benefits as well as any appointments you need to attend. Appointments are mandatory and missing one could impact your ability to receive benefits.
Unemployment benefits are paid for a 7-day week that begins on Sunday and ends on Saturday. Within 10 days of applying for benefits, you will receive a Notice to Claimant of Benefit Determination which details your work history, your base period, your wages during the base period and your weekly benefit amount and maximum benefit amount. If there are any errors with your New Jersey unemployment, contact the Reemployment Call Center immediately.
How Will I Receive My Payments
You can receive your unemployment benefit money in one of two ways: direct deposit into a personal checking or savings account or as a prepaid debit card from Bank of America.
There are no fees associated with direct deposit, but the prepaid debit card comes with some fees, including an out-of-network ATM withdrawal fee of 90 cents if you make more than four withdrawals per month , a 2% international transaction fee and a fee of up to $10 for a replacement card.
With direct deposit, youll typically receive your benefits within two business days of certifying your benefits. In contrast, youll have to wait seven to 10 business days to receive a prepaid card in the mail.
Recommended Reading: Unemployment Ticket Checker
New Jersey Unemployment Requirements
In order to start your unemployment, NJ unemployment requirements include the following:
1. You are totally unemployed. Depending on your vocation and industry, you may qualify for unemployment if you have had your hours reduced. 2. You have worked and earned a minimum amount of wages in work covered by unemployment tax during the past 18 months. 3. You have lost your job through no fault of your own. If you were laid-off you will qualify for unemployment. In most cases, if you were fired for cause you will not be eligible to collect unemployment. If you were fired for cause, you SHOULD apply for unemployment anyway, just in case you are eligible to get it. 4. You are able and available for work. If you are unable to work because of disability or medical condition, you may not meet the New Jersey unemployment requirements, but you should apply anyway. If you are not eligible for unemployment, you may be eligible to collect disability benefits, and the case worker at the unemployment office will be able to direct you on how to apply for disability. 5. You are registered for work at your local Workforce Development Center. You must do this when you apply for unemployment, and every week when you certify your weekly claim. 6. You are actively seeking work. You must apply to a minimum of two jobs per week.
To continue receiving weekly unemployment benefits, NJ unemployment requirements state that you must file a weekly claim by doing the following:
Still Have Questions?
What Is Required Of You
You are required to file for unemployment benefits on your own behalf. No employer will be filing for you. And there is no fee for applying for unemployment benefits. You can file online if you meet ALL of the following requirements:
All of your work was in New Jersey in the past 18 months You did not work for the federal government in the past 18 months You did not serve in the military in the past 18 months You did not work as a maritime employee in the past 18 months You do not currently reside outside the United States.
Unemployed New Jersey workers who do NOT meet all the requirements listed above are required to file by phone. Make sure you have all the documents needed to answer questions when you call.
Talking to an employment law attorney can help you understand all your unemployment benefits and make the most of them while you qualify.
John J. Zidziunas & Associates will provide you with expert help in your New Jersey employment law matters, advising you and representing you in court. Contact us for a 30 minute consultation at no charge, by email or by calling 973-509-8500.
Image courtesy of iosphere from FreeDigitalPhotos.net
Also Check: Unemployment Office Contact